Wings of Dawn by Sigmund Brouwer

I cannot write reviews on books without writing a review of Wings of Dawn. This is one of my favorite books. Let me set a few misunderstandings about this book straight. First, Sigmund Brouwer released the book as Magnus; then, he released this book as a series of children’s books under the title Wings of Light series. Magnus was reprinted under the title Wings of Dawn. It is now out of print again, but this book is still one of the best purchases you could make, even if you are only buying a used copy.

Where can I start with regards to the book? Thomas is caught in an epic battle between the Merlins and the Druids. Both sides want to capture the city of Magnus, because of the power it contains. Pilate asked Christ, “What is truth?” Sigmund asks, “What is power?” Thomas is caught between the two mortal enemies with no one to trust. Neither side trusts him, yet both need him. Both sides use ancient and arcane knowledge as power. To the peasants, this knowledge seems like magical power (e.g. affecting the dogs with an ultra-sonic whistle and of course, black powder from China). Toss in a knight or two, a few priests, a couple of lords and ladies, and of course, two attractive and mysterious (and quite eligible) young ladies and you get one superbly written plot.

My copy of this book has traveled the world. I have read it in Mexico and Canada. It has traveled with others to Bolivia and the Middle East. It’s a bit worn, but I love this book. If I had to choose among all of my favorite novels, this one book would probably top the list as my favorite. Now, if I could only meet Sigmund and get an autograph on this book…. This is a must read. Sigmund Brouwer did a fantastic job with this plot. In the end, the reader walks away with a better respect for education because they read this book.

4 thoughts on “Wings of Dawn by Sigmund Brouwer

  1. Yes, this was a very good book. Couldn’t put it down. I believe it is out of print though. That is a bummer. Try to find a used copy. It would be well worth it.

  2. I love this book and finally got it for a decent price on eBay! I read a copy from the local library back in 2005 and loved it. We moved to a very small town with a very limited library, so I am searching for my favorite books on eBay and Paperbackswap! I am looking forward to dog-earring this one! 🙂

  3. I have many fond memories of this book. I might have read it for the first time in 1994 or 1995.

    It still ranks as one of my all-time favorites.

Leave a Reply

