1776 by David McCullough


1776

Whenever I read a book about the history of the United States of America, I am impressed with the amazing hand of God. Some may call it what they will (some called the recapture of Boston luck while others called it the hand of Providence), but I see the mighty hand of God interjected into human affairs. And they want me to believe that God doesn’t work today. Hah!

I find it mind blowing to see how God uses little events to change the course of history. In “Flags of Our Fathers,” it was an accidental photograph on top Iwo Jima that inspired the nation to finish the war. In 1776, it was the capture of Trenton New Jersey. I find my reaction to the story that McCullough tells to be simply: Wow. Not sure that there’s anything more to say.

By the way, if you haven’t ever read David McCullough, you must. This is history like you haven’t read it before. He weaves a masterful tale that blends historical quotes, letters, and documents together along with his commentary and overview into a page turner. Mind you, this is history but not boring history. People have told me that McCullough was good, but let me say this: you haven’t read history written this well.

The story of 1776 is a story of an army’s birth. Washington took over the army in the middle of 1775 while the Continental army had the British bottled up in Boston. The Americans sought a resolution with England not independence. On December 31, 1775, most of the army was relieved of their contracts. Then as the army was disbanding before his eyes, Washington received, nay the army received the proclamation of King George. King George had declared that his army was to do whatever was necessary to squelch the rebellion. That proclamation stopped the exodus of the army, inspired the Declaration of Independence and breathed new life into the army.

And they want to say the timing was luck? Hah! God intervened in the history of this nation.
I won’t spoil the story for you, but suffice it to say, the year 1776 was about as bleak as life becomes. In fact, those immortal words, “these are the times that try men’s souls,” were penned during this time. The nation was fast losing faith in Washington for his indecision, bad judgment and inability to strategize. Yet, when it got blackest, the Lord intervened on December 27th, 1776. That was the turning point in the rebellion. If God had not granted a miraculous victory that blackest of nights, the war for independence would have been lost.

McCullough traces the first 18 months of Washington’s command. The war would continue for another six and half years, but after the brutal year of 1776, the rest was uphill.

Do yourself a favor this July. Read this book and appreciate what God has done to birth this nation. What other nation has ever had men willing to struggle and die through such terrible times? What other nation was birthed successfully with such great stress? This is truly a nation founded under the guiding hand of almighty God.

9 thoughts on “1776 by David McCullough

  1. Nope. That was his first book, but lets just say that this is how ALL history should be written. I listened to the audio version (unabridged and read by the author!). It was great. You won’t regret it.

  2. History is always worthwhile. I survived American history class because of books like this. I read somewhere that two good books on any topic will make you more educated than the general populace. Its wierd, but true.

    I told you, I love the Tudors. They reigned from roughly 1450-1600 in England. Between all the books I’ve read about them, my college class on the Renaissance is shockingly unrevealing. I never read a book on “the Renaissance” (1400-1700) specifically, so I thought I was pretty ignorent. I’m floored by how much everything relates to Tudor England and the Reformation, even though my professor is Italian and we’re focusing on art. If this professor was teaching American history, you’d probably get the same chills (as I will once I get my paws on 1776).

  3. I haven’t read anything by David McCullough, but having an interest in the American Revolution, I was interested in this book. I’m glad to hear it’s good reading. I especially like books that illustrate God’s Hand in the birth of this nation.

  4. Sorry your comments got stuck in the spam queue for so long. I didn’t pay a whole lot of attention. If you notice that in the future, please contact me. 🙂

    McCullough is good. You won’t regret the time spent on this book.

  5. Pingback: Conservative Book Talk » Men In Black by Mark R. Levin

Leave a Reply

